A Louder Silence Remixes

Pre-Order now on 12" and Digital

Pre-Order Now

A Louder Silence

Out now on LP, CD and Digital

Buy Now

Live Dates

There are no live dates currently scheduled

See all dates


Picked up by Late Night Tales Label – home to the Late Night Tales series, featuring artists including The Cinematic Orchestra, Nils Frahm and Four Tet – Leifur James released his debut album in October 2018 on their sister label, Night Time Stories, also home to Texan three piece, Khruangbin.

Leifur’s debut fuses ambient electronica, jazz, classical and soul music, a recording process which was over a 2 year period. ‘A Louder Silence’ has attracted support from Pitchfork, Mixmag, KEXP, XLR8R, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM and BBC Radio 6 Music DJs - Mixmag 8/10, Future Music UK Album of the Month 9/10, Electronic Sound 9/10.

Wurlitzer’ is the first piece of music he reveals from a new creative period after those sessions. The video was created by animator/director Balázs Simon, premiering on Boiler Room and has been nominated for the BMVA Berlin Music Video Awards alongside Jon Hopkins Singularity in the experimental music category. The result is ravishing 4 minutes of piano-fused electronica haunted by ecological currents. Watch the Wurlitzer (Official Music Video) on Boiler Room 4:3

In October 2019, he has prepared a remix EP of the debut album  A Louder Silence, featuring a slew of the finest musicians in electronic music today. Bruce, coming off the back of his hugely well received debut for Hessle Audio, has a “resymph” of  Osho  in typical mind-bending austere electronic style. Whities producer and Tirzah/Mica Levi collaborator Coby Sey reconstructs  Suns of Gold  with his sampler. Blueberry Records founder FaltyDL aka Drew Lustman contributes a deep, skipping 2-stepping reversion of  Mumma Don’t Tell. Auntie Flo AKA Brian d’Souza flexes his world-club fusion on a shimmering remix of  Salaninam.  And London cellist, composer and Radiohead regular collaborator Oliver Coates reshapes  Red Sea  into a swirling post-rock noise, leading into a jazz-chamber music outro.

The 4 most DJ friendly cuts from FaltyDL, Bruce, Coby Sey and Leifur’s own remix were released as a highly limited edition 12”. In total, it’s a refreshingly diverse and creative collection of new approaches to Leifur’s source material.

KEXP — "An evocative set of spacious, cerebral, nuanced electronic grooves"
MIXMAG — "A subtle album that draws you further and further into an intimate world"
XLR8R — "A fascinating and shapeshifting debut"